KTJ was established in 1991 by YAM Tunku Naquiyuddin, YAM Tunku Imran and YAM Tunku Dara, who all continue to be active members of the Board of Trustees.

The aim at the establishment of the School was to provide a British-style boarding education for students aged 11-18 in a Malaysian setting. This remains a central aim. However, in 2013 a Primary School was added, and with this day students started to enter the Secondary School.

The Board is legally responsible for the School. It is also responsible for KTJ’s strategic development, for both the financial stability and the financial future of the School, and for appointing the Principal. 

The School’s finances are audited annually by an external accountancy firm, which provides statutory accounts. Copies of these accounts are provided to each Trustee, as well as to the Inland Revenue Department, the Companies Commission and the Company Secretary.

While the Board focuses on strategic issues and on the long term wellbeing of the School, responsibility for the day-to-day administration of the School is delegated to the Principal and the Senior Leadership Team (SLT). The Board maintains oversight of the School’s programme and operations through ongoing dialogue with members of the SLT and receives reports from them regularly. The Board also holds an annual strategic day in school, where they meet a variety of staff and students in order to gain their feedback.

Please see below for the list of members on our Board of Trustees, Board of Governors, Finance and Planning Committee, and Development Committee. 

Board of Trustees

Our Community

Board of Governors

  • YAM Tunku Naquiyuddin ibni Almarhum Tuanku Ja'afar
  • YAM Tunku Tan Sri Imran ibni Almarhum Tuanku Ja'afar
  • YAM Tunku Dara Tunku Tan Sri Naquiah binti Almarhum Tuanku Ja'afar
  • En Nizar Idris
  • Dato' Richard Small
  • En Mustamir bin Mohamad
  • Tan Sri Dato' Dr Yahya Awang
  • Tun Zaki Tun Azmi

Finance and Planning Committee

  • Chairman: YAM Tunku Dara Tunku Tan Sri Naquiah bt. Almarhum Tuanku Ja’afar
  • Tunku Dato’ Seri Nadzaruddin ibni Almarhum Tuanku Ja’afar 
  • En Mustamir bin Mohamad
  • Dr Glenn Moodie
  • Mr Kris Davis
  • Ms Sarah Chesworth
  • Mr Timothy James

Development Committee 

  • YAM Tunku Tan Sri Imran ibni Almarhum Tuanku Ja’afar 
  • Dr Glenn Moodie
  • Mr Kris Davis
  • Mr Gary Slade
  • Ms Sarah Chesworth
  • Mr Timothy James

Where next?

Welcome to KTJ
Virtual Tour
Our Staff